LIEBSTER AWARD!

liebster-award

I was stunned and tremendously honored to learn that a blogger who I highly regard (Stressless with Jesus) has nominated my blog for the Liebster Award!  Wow!  Thank you so very much, Lene!  Your writing touches the soul, while mine merely appeals to the brain, so I feel like I’m not even close to being in your league, but am so encouraged by your recognition! 

Of course, my first question was, “What is the Liebster Award?” 

Lieb’ is a German word with a variety of meanings, all related to love and worth: dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, welcome, sweetheart and even boyfriend.   So a ‘Liebster’ is someone (or something, in this case a blog) that has merited affection and attention for one reason or another.   Lene thinks that applies to my blog!  Awesome!

One of my favorite things about the Liebster Award is that I get to nominate some other bloggers for the same award!!!   There are so many wonderful blogs out there that offer blessing, entertainment, beauty and encouragement.  What a pleasure to be able to honor a few of them!  I would have selected Stressless With Jesus as my first choice, but since she has already received the award, I will simply bow respectfully and go on to my other choices.  🙂

To the Nominees: To find out how to accept the award and pass it on (which is one of the requirements for accepting it), you can find all the ‘rules and regs’ at the end of this list.  Or you can go to this link for more details: Liebster Award.

AND THE NOMINEES ARE….

 

1.  Natsabnatsab, by Pete Rambo.  Outstanding original articles, audio and video recordings, and reblogs, all examining the scriptures (from a messianic, Hebrew Roots perspective) and offering encouragement.    Mind-stretching!

2. the barking foxThe Barking Fox – Examining Scripture From a Hebraic Perspective, by Al McCarn.   Al is not only a gifted and entertaining writer, but offers plenty of original thought and perspective.   If you’ve got a question, he’s got an article about it!

3.  Abrahams DaughterWilderness Report, by Abraham’s Daughter.   Deeply anointed understanding of the Tanakh (Old Testament scriptures), shared tenderly and filled with her love for the Master.  Truly a blessing!  Her articles are long because they cover large portions of scripture, but each topic is carefully studied and thoroughly examined – the result is well worth the time.  Her articles make great devotionals.

4.  munyingnyingMy Bible Reading, Listening and Living, by munyingnying.  Pithy, encouraging, thought-provoking, honest…. lots of good words describe this young lady’s blog.  She is a genuine seeker after the Things of God, and it shows in her writing.  Enjoy!

5. whats-missingMissing Pieces, by Nancy and Peter Ryall.  A weekly post that always gives me something to think about, some new information, or a reminder about a familiar topic – all scripture based and offered with genuine love.  Peter and Nancy are personal friends and I can speak with assurance about their love for others and their faith in the Master.

6.  lightwritersLightwriters, by Susan.  This delightful blog blesses me on a regular basis.  If you love beautiful pictures and poems that touch the heart, you’ll love this blog.  She describes her blog as “a  playground of prose,  flash fiction, faith/life notebooks, and assorted scribbles. ”   Always insightful.

7.  grace on purpose, by Grace Lucille.  A wide variety of subjects, but all written thoughtfully and ‘grace’fully” from a messianic perspective.   A wise lady with a talented pen (keyboard?).

8.   Sojourning with Jews, by Ruth.   The journal of a Gentile woman married (happily though sometimes bemusedly) to a Jewish man.  Fascinating insight into Jewish/Gentile relationships,  written with gentle humor and a lot of insight into human behavior.  Always interesting and entertaining.

I would also have loved to nominate Jennifer Deg, author of The Wind, the Waves and the Anchor, but she has already won the award!  And it is truly well-deserved.    She is walking through a deep and dark valley, but the Light of the Lord is giving her a wonderful “lamp unto her feet.”   She has a lovely way of sharing that light with us.

NOMINEE INSTRUCTIONS

STEP 1:  It’s as much fun to pass this award on as it is to accept it.  To accept your reward, the first requirement is to answer the nominator’s questions.  I’ll lead the way by answering the questions that Lene posed for me.  Then I’ll list my 11 questions for you.  🙂

1. Who are you?  –  I am an old lady who loves the Lord and who wants to worship and honor Him the way HE wants to be worshipped and honored, not the way people tell me I should worship and honor Him.

2. What do you like to do the most?  – I am addicted to doing family history research.   Husband John will tell you that once I get started it takes an Act of Congress to make me stop (or I fall over asleep in my tracks).   But I also love researching scriptural issues using the scriptures themselves – the Holy Spirit generally surprises me and points out understandings that I totally missed before, but which then I find out are plastered all over the Word – I was just blind to them because of the ‘doctrines and traditions of men’ that I had been “blindly” trusting.   What a thrill when the scriptures themselves set me straight!!

3. If you could meet anyone, dead or alive, who would it be?   I’ve already met Y’shua (Who is alive!), and I used to think what fun it would be to meet the apostle Paul, but these days I’m more interested in getting a chance to meet Moses and tell him ‘Thank you!’ for his faithful shepherding of the Israelites, without whom we would not even have the scriptures.

4.  What are your plans for 2015? – This is a big year for us.  We are leaving for Israel in two weeks (May 17), and will be attending The First Ephraimite/Northern Israel National Congress, the intent of which is to lay a solid groundwork upon which ‘Ephraim’ (those who are discovering their call into the House of Israel and Messiah’s Kingdom) can assist one another in building relationship, community and eventual ‘nationhood’, much akin to the Zionist movement of the 1880’s-early 1900’s. 

5. Name your favourite books! –  It may sound silly, but I will always cherish the The Chronicles of Narnia series by C S Lewis  and The Lord of the Rings/Hobbit/etc writings of JRR Tolkien and have read them each many, many times.  Why?  Because both sets of books are filled with the call to a life based on the absolute determination, no matter the cost, to do what is good and right in a world gone terribly wrong.   Another favorite has moved me since I was a pre-teen: The Diary of a Young Girl, by Anne Frank.  What an amazing girl!  She found joy and purpose in some of the darkest hours that have ever beset mankind.  Who could not be inspired by such a person?

6.  What’s your favorite photo you took this year? – Sorry, I don’t take photos.  Me and cameras don’t mix….   🙂    But I might take some in Israel,  and I guarantee you that those will be my favorites!!!

7.  Was there a special moment when you decided to start blogging? – The idea haunted me for a couple of years, but I just wasn’t sure that it was the LORD’s idea rather than my own.   Finally after over a year of praying about it, I got the go-ahead and launched my own blog last year.  Kinda scary!!  Still kinda shaking in my boots – there could be a lot to answer for…..

8. You are not leaving your house without…?  MY BIBLE!!!!  In fact, a few years ago we were evacuated from our home during a huge fire in Texas.  We only had a few minutes to pack and the first thing I grabbed was my Bible.  I have a tiny New Testament that I carry in my purse for every day.  I have to depend on that paper Bible because I have such a lousy memory – wish I could memorize more scripture!

9.  Potatoes or rice?  –  Us Irish girls love our potatoes  🙂  Okay, so I’m 3/4 English, but those Irish genes are apparently very powerful!

10.  What is your most prized possession?  – Probably all the family photos.  Anything else (even my Bible) can be replaced.  Another: the blouse I gave my mother back in the 1970’s and that Dad returned to me after she died.  I can still see her in it.  Sometimes it’s nice to just pull it out and spend some time with the memories.

11.  What is your favorite post that you’ve written? (Please provide link!)   It’s probably not the best written or the easiest to read, but it is the one that means the most to meWhat Does it Mean to be Righteous?  There is another article that I need some technical (html) help on before I can post it: Y’shua Taught Us to Walk in Torah.  That’s the  one I REALLY want to get online! 

STEP 1 Continued

STEP 1:  Okay, Nominees, now YOU get to answer some questions!

1.   What made you decide to start a blog?

2.  What would be the best thing that could happen as a result of your blog?

3.  What’s YOUR favorite post that YOU’ve written?  (Be sure to provide the link!)

4.   Who is/are your hero(es) and/or heroine(s)?  Why?

5.  What single person has had the most influence in your life?  What did you learn from that person?

6.  If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?  And how long would you stay?

7.   Name a book or film that changed the way you thought about an important topic.  How did your thinking change?

8.   If you could choose a new career path right now, what would it be?

9.   What’s your favorite food or snack food?

10.   What do you like to do on a rainy day?

11.  If you could ask your great-great-grandfather any question, what would it be?

STEP 2

Step 2 is the easiest step of all –> simply notify your nominees that you have nominated them to receive the Liebster Award.  It’s up to them if they want to receive it and pass it forward, or decline it and miss out on the fun!

STEP 3

Proudly post your award at your blog and list your nominees so we can visit their blogs!!  What a great way to find new friends and blogs!

THANK YOU

Thank you, Lene, for nominating my blog.  And thank you, Lene and Nominees, for the amazing, wonderful, encouraging, refreshing, insightful, challenging, and intelligent things you post.  You make my day EVERY day!

It is a privilege to share your blogs with my readers, few though they may be – May they be as blessed as I have been by the wonderful things you have shared through your blogs!

YHVH bless thee, and keep thee: YHVH make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: YHVH lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.  Numbers 6: 24-26

3 thoughts on “LIEBSTER AWARD!”

  1. Thank you dear Sue for those amazing words about my blog! You are so very deserving of this award and I am truly humbled you enjoy reading my blog (as it is so ruthlessly honest and soaked in emotions).
    If my blog” touches the soul” and your blog “appeals to the brain”, then put us together and anyone can get a full picture of how big our Elohim and Adonai AM.
    ❤ Love

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

